Blogia
lifeonmars

Morrisey

Es indudable lo importante que es Morrisey para nuestras vidas. Bueno, para las de algunos más que para las de otros (para la mía sin duda lo es).

Y también debe serlo para este señor de cuya historia quiero hablaros aquí. Resulta que Ryan McGinley ha recorrido durante meses (o años) muchos lugares donde actuaba Morrisey en directo, y le hizo cantidad de fotos que ahora han salido a la luz. De hecho forman parte de una exposición de fotografía que se ve estos días en una galería de arte en Nueva York.

Me parece tremendamente poético dedicar tanto esfuerzo de tu vida a tan loable entretenimiento, y encima convertirlo en arte.
Porque además las fotos son maravillosas obras de arte.


Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us


¡Preciosas!

Además la entrevista al artista es de lo más jugosa:

"FROM FRANCE TO MEXICO, LATELY WHEN THE MYTHIC MORRISSEY TAKES CENTER STAGE, NEW YORK PHOTOGRAPHER RYAN McGINLEY IS SOMEWHERE IN THE CROWD PHOTOGRAPHING. A NEW EXHIBITION CELEBRATES THE MOZ AND ALL OF THE HEARTS BEATING FOR HIM

QUESTION: What initially attracted you to Morrissey?
RYAN McGINLEY: When I was about 12, my older brother Paul was really into the Smiths. I loved the cover of Meat Is Murder, and I took his record and taped it in my locker at school. I didn’t really get into the music until I was 16. My friend had a brother who was one or two grades ahead of us who listened to Morrissey. We all wore Doc Martens and big army coats and sat in his basement listening to it. I couldn’t believe how someone so far away could speak so directly to me. How he could speak so simply, addressing so many of the issues I was dealing with. He’s having a laugh and, at the same time, he’s being deadly serious. He has a way of saying exactly what I need to hear. These are my songs just like they are everyone else’s, but they are still mine.
Q: What will the photos in your show at Team Gallery look like?
RM: The exhibition is about the Morrissey concert experience. The photos are made from when the music starts until it ends. The pictures are of the individual fans, the audience, the front row, in the middle of the crowd, and Morrissey onstage.
Q: How did your project arise?
RM: Before I got permission to photograph Morrissey I would go to the concerts and hide cameras in my underwear and rolls of film in my socks. After I started getting back photos from the shows, I realized that I wanted to do something bigger. Now that I have access, I can shoot as much as I want to but I kind of miss the thrill of sneaking pictures.
Q: How did you make your photographs different from the usual concert shots?
RM: The idea was to capture the feeling from a fan’s perspective attending a Morrissey concert. The great thing about shooting him is that he’s so active. He knows about the drama and opera of performance. He invented those classic Smiths moves, whipping around his microphone cord, shaking his hips, and throwing his wrists back and forth in the air. All of my work is people performing or being active in front of the camera, so taking pictures of Morrissey made perfect sense. Photographing the concerts is my way of expressing my appreciation to him.
Q: What’s your favorite part of the show?
RM: The time right before he goes onstage is so peaceful and also exciting. It’s dark and quiet but the anticipation is intense. It feels very religious. Fans start chanting “Morrissey, Morrissey, Morrissey.” I also love the encores. It’s a tradition for fans to jump up onstage and express their love for him. They hug him, they kiss him, they cry. I love their desperation.
Q: How is touring?
RM: The life of hopping on a train or a plane every day for a new show is beautiful. There is something very romantic about it. All the things that happen along the way, the people you meet, the experiences. After the show ends you always want more and can’t wait for the next one. I’ve had some of the best times in my life going to Morrissey shows.
Q: What are the fans like?
RM: I really admire the fans lining up a full day before each concert to get a spot in the front row. These are the hardcore Morrissey fans. They should seriously get a medal. I think they do it because they want to express to him how grateful they are for what he’s given them. When you are in the front he always makes eye contact with you at some point during the show. If you’re lucky he might sing to you or touch your hand. It’s nice to be noticed by someone that you really admire. He understands what it means to be a fan. He’s the ultimate fan who turned ultimate star.
Q: What is your favorite Morrissey song?
RM: The song I most relate to is “There’s a Place in Hell for Me and my Friends.” I’ve always thought that it could be the theme song for my life.
Q: After going to all these shows, what would be your ideal Morrissey set list?
RM: 1. Hairdresser on Fire
2. Girl Least Likely To
3. Boxers
4. Come Back to Camden
5. You Know I Couldn’t Last
6. First of the Gang to Die
7. King Leer
8. There Is a Light that Never Goes Out
9. Sing your Life
10. I’ve Changed my Plea to Guilty
11. Trouble Loves Me
12. Such a Little Thing Makes such a Big Difference
13. Jack the Ripper
14. To Me You Are a Work of Art
15. Now My Heart Is Full
16. There’s a Place in Hell for Me and my Friends
encore...
17. The More You Ignore Me, the Closer I Get
Q: After the exhibition happens, will you continue going to Morrissey shows?
RM: I’ll always go. I’ll drop everything and anything and I’m off."


El genio de Manchester se merece esto y mucho más.

6 comentarios

inthesity -

Yo una vez me acerqué al Carnegie Hall de NYC, el día que salían las entradas a la venta para ver al Morri, incauto de mí. Al llegar la cola daba la vuelta a la manzana y dije, que le den. A los días suspendió el concierto por enfermedad. Otra anécdota más del abuelo cebolleta.

1flash -

Jo, qué chulas las fotos, yo siempre me quedaré con el gusanillo de no haber visto nunca en directo a los Smiths. Will the world end in a day time? I really don't know, or will the world end in a night time? I really don't know, all I do know is you're here and its now....

intehesity -

Joder Lifeon, está a la ulitima, este pavo junto con otros dos, una especie de sobrinastro de Uma Thurman, o algo así, que a su vez es nieto o bisnieto del mayor coleccionista de arte de los USA, los De Menil, son lo más de la escena arty underground? de NYC, y pongo interrogante porque son esa gente que causa furor porque supuestamente son outsiders, pero luego venden sus piezas en Satchi a medio millón de dólares. Este artículo si que te va a encantar, mas que artístico yo lo veo cotilla, porque cuenta más sus vidas que su trabajo en fin ya me contarás si te ha gustado o si ya lo habías leido y este pedazo rollo que me he marcado no vale para nada.
http://nymag.com/arts/art/profiles/26288/

Xabi -

Ya vereis cuando actúe en Eurovisión... se os va a caer el mito.
Mientras tanto te dejo la letra de un bonito tema de Spunky (versioneando al argentino Leo García):

"¿Sabrá tu novia que escuchamos Morrisey?
¿Que me extrañas más de lo que ella te extraña?"

Qué sutil :))

mal -

the smiths siempre serán uno de mis grupos favoritos, y la primera etapa de morrisey me gustó, pero ahora me tiene un poco cansao. no se si son sus comentarios que antes ya eran pedantes, pero que ahora resultan más pretenciosos todavía. en fin, si se va a eurovisión ya sería el colmo. me han encantao las fotos. ;D

EL NOVIO DE TRACY -

Ummm..."Last night I dreamt that somebody loved me"